top of page

To Be Free

After our panel discussion yesterday and hearing the audience's questions about implementing open inquiry in other classes, I began to think about what truly sets EMC apart. One of the most salient things I contrasted was how we identify problems. There is a big difference between saying "I'm bad at communication" and saying "I'm not great at telling a story... which makes communication difficult." Education and learning each contain the objective of improvement. But it seems that the attitude with which we tackle betterment determines whether we can find meaning in the process. Open inquiry isn't perfect. We don't always know where we'll end up or how to deal with the current state of our learning process, but it is liberating. To quote Noah, "there are no walls." Open inquiry provides each of our beautifully glorious brains with the endless possibilities they deserve. The constraints are lifted. It seems like accountability forgone, but this class has taught me more accountability - from myself. When I make my own decisions about what I learn, I hold myself to those choices with a stringency not clouded by external expectations. There will never be a moment when we declare omniscience. Learning is a never ending strife that endures all stages of life, ages, and experiences. The question is whether we accept that universal definition. Maybe, instead of thinking about a classroom when we think of learning, we can start thinking about conversations, mistakes, and the unwavering desire to be better. (246)


bottom of page