top of page

The Future

For this journal, I will focus on a more open ended inquiry than usual.

The Future.

The elephant in the room is college. I was wait-listed from a medical program and it's okay. Sure, seeing others disappointed sometimes gets the better of me. There are some instances when I wonder what I could've done differently; if I should have worked harder, practiced more, studied longer...

But if there's one thing I've learned from three years of emc, it's that regret does nothing to propel you forward. You reflect. You pause, maybe make a list of things to improve. But you must move on.

Although the future's uncertainties are numerous, recall that until we reach those relative "futures" we can't change their ambiguous nature. So we might as well stop trying. Not due to lack of care, but for sanity's sake.

This doesn't only apply to college. This is about how we react to all that life throws at us. This year, I tried to write a thesis paper. Was that the best endeavor to pursue? Maybe not. But no regrets allowed - I pause and reflect, make a list, and move forward. My thesis defense is in 11 days. After 2:00 pm on April 1o, I will not forget about my paper nor the process of writing it. But I will move on to the next challenge, wiser by the lessons I learned from the previous one. (238)


bottom of page