top of page

Perspective

What have you learned about the brain? What have you learned from working within the science world? What have you learned about yourself?

There is so much meaning in the simple order of these questions - from subject matter, to contextualization, and to introspection - how the process has changed and shaped me.

First, I have acquired great respect for model systems and by extension, how unfathomable the brain really is. If microscopic worms can tell us something we don't already know about the human brain, surely we know very little.

I suppose though, the first two questions go together. Working within the scientific world taught me about the brain. I've learned that there are rules like the scientific method which produce accuracy and dependability. In complying with these guidelines, the biggest thing I have learned about myself is frankly, that I am small. Truly, when we look at the grand scheme of things; whatever the discipline, we gain important perspective. Perspective that helps us understand what it is we are doing but also gives us a real assessment of what effect we are having.

What it all shakes down to is how the personal process of inquiry advances self-awareness and how we use those lessons to become better. We are each of limited influence. But we have complete control over our own conduct. So if I think only in terms of neuroscience then it is my personal duty to use that for self-improvement. Realizing that we're small in comparison to everything else, should only reaffirm that we have the largest presence for ourselves. And that perspective alone is indispensable. (246)


bottom of page