top of page

A Simpler Start

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about endings and what we’re left with when all is said and done. The biggest example would be high school coming to its culmination. Within that example, I think I’ve begun to understand what’s truly valuable throughout these four years. My realization that grades aren’t everything came earlier but I think it was only recently that I understood the opposite end - if grades don’t matter, what does? Experiences, relationships, and universal skills that carry beyond a transcript. As my convoluted mind would have it then, I tackled other things with the same question - when all is complete, what are the prominent things left - what will endure the test of time?

As far as my current EMC project goes, this alarmed me a bit. The first thing I decided with near certainty was that it probably won't be my results section, or even thesis paper (the process, yes. but the paper will likely become a distant memory). I wondered, if this won’t last, why have I put myself in a position where I feel like that's the only thing I have? But that’s too forward and wrong a question. Here’s a simpler start - within this thesis-writing process, what can I extract? Surely, this work isn’t useless. I keep saying I don’t know how to connect other people with my subject matter but maybe I've been searching for my answer in the wrong place and using the wrong questions. (248)


bottom of page